Vegan food and drinks at Fatburger. In this post, I am going to be sharing with you the 10 best vegan food and drink items at Fatburger and answer some frequently asked questions when it comes to vegan food at the chain. That’s right, it is time to find out if Fatburger has any vegan options. A classic “burger stand” style chain – Fatburger offers a variety of fast-food burger and fries options. But what exactly is vegan at Fatburger?
What is Vegan At Fatburger?
As a general rule, the following food and drink items at Fatburger are vegan:
- Impossible burger (on a white bun and without mayo and with dairy-free cheese if desired)
- Skinny, fat, and sweet potato fries
- Vegan strawberry, vanilla, chocolate, and Maui banana milkshakes
- Sodas; and
*As is always the case at all non-exclusively vegan restaurants, there is always the chance of cross-contamination.
In fact, the following statement from Fatburger comes up when ordering a vegan milkshake online – “Fatburger is not a certified vegan restaurant. Normal kitchen operations involve shared cooking and preparation areas where cross-contact with other foods may occur”.
I will leave this to your discretion as to whether this is something you are comfortable with or not.
*Also, some items may contain sugar – the source of the sugar has not been verified as to whether it has been processed with bone char or not. I will leave that to your discretion as to whether this is something you are comfortable with or not.
Summary Table – 10 Vegan Food and Drink Items at Fatburger
Below is a summary table of 10 vegan food and drink items at Fatburger together with any specific vegan ordering instructions.
|10 Vegan Food and Drinks Items At Fatburger||Ordering Instructions|
|1. Impossible Burger||*Order on a white bun |
*Order with no mayo
*Add Daiya dairy-free cheese
|2. Skinny Fries||Order as-is|
|3. Fat Fries||Order as-is|
|4. Sweet Potato Fries||Order as-is|
|5. Vegan Strawberry Milkshake||Order as-is|
|6. Vegan Vanilla Milkshake||Order as-is|
|7. Vegan Chocolate Milkshake||Order as-is|
|8. Vegan Maui Banana Milkshake||Order as-is|
|9. Sodas||Order as-is|
|10. Lemonade||Order as-is|
10 Vegan Food and Drinks Item At Fatburger – Item By Item
In this section, I will go through my picks for the 10 best vegan food and drink options at Fatburger. I put in an *asterisk* any specific vegan ordering instructions.
1. Impossible Burger
*Order on a white bun
*Order with no mayo
*Add Daiya dairy free cheese
Fatburger has an Impossible Burger. Happy dance. This is the only vegan burger option available on the menu. Even though Fatburger has a veggie burger on its menu – it is not vegan.
There are just a few important modifications to be made to ensure it is vegan. First up make sure to order the Impossible Burger on a white bun – the gluten-free and wheat buns are not vegan. The other important thing to do is order it without mayo.
You can also pay extra to have cheese added – if you want cheese make sure to ask for dairy-free cheese. Yes, you heard that correctly. Fatburger has dairy-free cheese.
You can also choose from the following delish vegan toppings when ordering your Impossible Burger at Fatburger:
2. Skinny Fries
Okay, so we have established a vegan Impossible burger that can be ordered at Fatburger. How about sides?
If you enjoy your vegan fries of the skinny variety then Fatburger have you covered with their skinny fries.
Fatburger does not cook their fries in animal lard like some establishments – the fries are cooked in vegan oil. It is possible they may share a fryer with non-vegan items. If this is an issue for you make sure to double-check with your server before ordering.
3. Fat Fries
If you are more of a fan of your vegan fries being of the fat and chunky variety then Fatburger also have you covered. Enter Fatburger’s Fat Fries. That’s a tongue twister if I ever heard one.
As I mentioned above these are not cooked in animal lard, but they may be cooked in the same oil as non-vegan items. If this is an issue for you make sure to double-check with your server before ordering.
4. Sweet Potato Fries
Finally, on the fries front, Fatburger also has sweet potato fries – perfect for all you sweet potato lovers out there.
So, you may not have a crazy amount of choice in terms of vegan entrees at Fatburger but at least you have some choice when it comes to your side – skinny fries, fat Fries, or sweet potato fries.
Again, as I mentioned above these are not cooked in animal lard, but they may be cooked in the same oil as non-vegan items. If this is an issue for you make sure to double-check with your server before ordering.
5. Vegan Strawberry Milkshake
This is where things start to get exciting. Fatburger has a range of vegan milkshakes available. Yes, that’s right vegan milkshakes.
These vegan milkshakes are made using Craig’s cashew-based ice cream, oat milk, and coconut milk whipped cream. I mean that is worth heading to Fatburger for alone – even if you don’t want anything to eat.
The first of Fatburger’s vegan milkshake flavors is good old strawberry. You can order your milkshake without the coconut whip, but why would you want to do that? Not seriously why?
6. Vegan Vanilla Milkshake
Fatburger’s vegan milkshakes also come in the OG milkshakes flavor – vanilla. All the vegan vanilla vibes.
7. Vegan Chocolate Milkshake
There is even a vegan chocolate milkshake available at Fatburger. Perfect for all you vegan chocoholics out there.
8. Vegan Maui Banana Milkshake
The final vegan milkshake flavor at Fatburger is another classic flavor – Maui Banana. This milkshake contains real bananas – yum.
If for whatever reason a vegan milkshake isn’t for you (you crazy person) then it’s good to know that Fatburger still has some classic sodas on the menu. These sodas include Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, Dr. Pepper, and Mugs Root Beer. You can read more about whether soda is always vegan here:
- Is Soda Vegan Revealing What You Need To Know
- Is Pepsi Vegan? Secrets To Know About Pepsi Drinks
- Is Root Beer Vegan? Unlock The Hidden Root Cause
Finally, Fatburger also has a “sweet but tart” lemonade on the menu. If you are a vegan who consumes sugar, then this could be a refreshing drink option for you.
Vegan At Fatburger F&Q
Are Fatburger Buns Vegan?
The white buns at Fatburger are vegan. The wheat and gluten-free buns at Fatburger are not vegan.
Are Fatburger’s Fries Vegan?
The skinny, fat, and sweetened potato fries do not contain any non-vegan ingredients and are cooked in vegan oil. These fries may be fried along with non-vegan items – if this is a concern for you then make sure to double-check with your server.
What Dairy-Free Cheese Does Fatburger Use?
The dairy-free cheese that Fatburger uses is Daiya dairy-free cheese.
What Is In The Impossible Burger At Fatburger?
The Impossible Burger at Fatburger consists of an Impossible patty which is sandwiched between your choice of gluten-free, white, or wheat bun (the white bun is the only vegan bun). You can then choose the following vegan toppings to be added:
- Daiya Dairy-free cheese
What Is In Fatburger Vegan Shakes?
Fatburger vegan Shakes are made with Craig’s cashew-based ice cream, oat milk and coconut milk whipped cream. Flavors like the Maui Banana also contain bananas.
10 Vegan Food and Drink Items At Fatburger – The Final Sip
Vegan food and drink items at Fatburger. So, what exactly is vegan at Fatburger? Well, the good news is that you can get a vegan Impossible Burger at Fatburger. You can even order it with vegan cheese. The only thing to watch out for is that a lot of the food items will be cooked on the same equipment as non-vegan food items. That said, the real reason to go to Fatburger if you are vegan is for one of their vegan milkshakes. I have done a lot of reviews on burger chains and Fatburger is one of the few where you can get vegan milkshakes in multiple flavors.
…now you know.
Ingredients and/or manufacturing processes involved in food and drink items may change. Always double-check ingredients and nutritional information before purchasing any food items.
Like What You Are Reading
Want to learn more? Need to know if your favorite Soda is vegan? How about that morning coffee or orange juice – think those are vegan…well do you? Or how about those drinks from your favorite coffee chain or restaurant – want to know if they are vegan? It’s time to find out. Check out some of my other vegan articles: