Vegan Non-Alcoholic Wine – red, white, rose …or how about non-alcoholic. In my previous piece: Vegan Non-Alcoholic Drinks – Revealing What You Need To Know I talked about everything you need to know about Non-Alcoholic Drinks such as wine, champagne, beer, liquor, and mocktails. With a third of Americans not drinking alcohol at all, I wanted to go into depth on each category providing you with a list of Non-Alcoholic drinks for each type of drink. In this post, I am going to look at options for vegan non-alcoholic wines – specifically 10 vegan non-alcoholic wines.
There are many vegan non-alcoholic wines on the market today. From vegan non-alcoholic Pinot Noir, Cabernet Sauvignon, Tempranillo, Sparkling Rose, Sparkling White, Chardonnay, and Moscato – if you are vegan and want a non-alcoholic wine you no longer must miss out.
How Is Non-Alcoholic Wine made?
Non-Alcoholic Wine can be produced in two ways:
- The first is by combining water, juices, spices, and flavors to mimic the taste of wine. These types of wines will not have gone through any typical type of traditional wine fermentation process. Instead, these are blends designed to mimic the taste of wine.
- The second is by removing alcohol from alcoholic wine. This is done by heating the fermented batch of wine to evaporate alcohol from its contents. It works because alcohol has a lower boiling point than water. By heating it to certain temperature alcohol can be evaporated out and removed.
Does Non-Alcoholic Mean Vegan?
Just because a wine may be non-alcoholic does not mean that it will be vegan. As many non-alcoholic wines are made by dealcoholizing wine, it is important to check it is still vegan. This is because non-vegan fining agents (substances used to clarify and remove unwanted molecules from a fermented batch of wine) can still be used in the initial wine production.
If you want to learn more about wine and fining agents, I covered it in detail in my post: Why Is Wine Not Vegan? How To Know The Truth. For now, you just need to know that fining agents are commonly used in wine production, and whilst there are some vegan fining agents, the most widely used are not vegan, such as Isinglass (which is dried fish bladders).
Also, because alcohol is removed there can remain trace amounts of alcohol in the wine. This is usually less than 0.5% alcohol by volume (ABV) and wine producers should label this on the bottle. Please note anything with less than 0.5% alcohol can be labeled as “Non-Alcoholic”.
In my below top 10 list, I have tried to include both types of wine – those made by the removal of alcohol and those made by blending flavors.
10 Vegan Non-Alcoholic Wines
1. Sapiens Wine
Despite the above disclaimer about some of these wines still containing 0.5% alcohol, Sapiens Wine isn’t one of them – their wines are 100% wine, 0% juice, and 0% alcohol. It is still made from dealcoholized wine but its alcohol content by volume is 0.0%. Sapiens’ slogan is “indulge without compromise” and their wines are marketed as “hangovers not included.”
Sapiens helpfully states that their wines are vegan in the FAQ section of their website. Big thumbs up.
Sapiens have two varieties of non-alcoholic wines – both are made from the Tempranillo grape. Sapiens is available in a bold, smokey, and oaky Red, as well as a light and refreshing semi-sweet Sparkling Rose.
You can find Sapiens by visiting their website here.
Sapiens wines do contain added sugar – if you are in the market for no added sugar non-alcoholic wines then the next brand may be for you.
2. Surely Wine
Surely’s wines are vegan, gluten-free, and keto, as well as being low calorie and not containing added sugars. Surely have a decent selection of wines to choose from – their non-sparkling wines consist of a Pinot Noir and a Rose. If sparkling wine is your thing Surely do a Sparkling Rose as well as a Sparkling White. Surely also offer cans of their Sparkling Rose as well as cans of Brut.
Surely claim that their sparkling is the World’s first sparkling wine that tastes like the real thing. You can try out the Sparkling Rose from Amazon by clicking here.
3. Pierre Zero Rose Sparkling Non-Alcoholic Vegan Wine
On the topic of Sparkling Rose, Pierre Zero also make a vegan non-alcoholic Sparkling Rose. Perfect for special occasions. They even have a Pink Sparkling Rose – perfect for a baby shower.
You can find Pierre Zero on Amazon by clicking here.
Oh, and if you are wondering why any of these “Sparkling” wines are not called “Champagne”, it is because they legally can’t be called that. Yep, that is right. To be called Champagne a wine must meet very specific standards. If you want to find out what they are check out my post: Is Champagne Vegan? Revealing The Truth Behind The Bubbles.
4. Fre Alcohol Removed Wine
In this post, I have talked about Red, Sparkling Wine, and Rose wines, but what if your choice of wine is White wine? Fre, which is owned by Sutter Homes, have you covered. Fre’s vegan non-alcoholic wines are available on Amazon and include a Chardonnay and a Moscato. Spoiled for choice there really.
Fre also has a selection of vegan non-alcoholic reds and sparkling wines.
5. St. Regis
St. Regis is another vegan non-alcoholic wine brand that has White options as well as Red and Sparkling. You can find their Chardonnay on Amazon here. This Chardonnay has notes of pear and apricot.
H2O is the world’s first California wine-infused sparkling refreshment. It is a best seller on Amazon so must be good. H2O comes in a can format and is available in Pinot Noir, Sparkling Rose, Moscato, and Sauvignon Blanc.
H2O contains 100% daily vitamins C and B12. This is great news as the only vitamin that is hard to get enough of as a vegan is B12. H20 also contains antioxidants and electrolytes, which makes it very hydrating! H2Os alcohol content is 0%.
You can find H20 on Amazon by clicking here.
Sinzero comes in Chardonnay, Rose, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Brut Sparkling Wine. Sinzero is a vegan non-alcoholic wine brand from Chile. As it is Chilian I would personally go to the Cabernet.
You can find Sinzero on Amazon by clicking here.
Unlike the other bottles of non-alcoholic wine on this list, Tost is not a dealcoholized wine. Instead, Tost is a sparkling wine alternative made from white tea, ginger, and white cranberry (see it is a blend designed to mimic the taste of wine). This means you don’t need to worry about non-vegan fining agents since it is more of a juice-wine alternative. It is bubbly, so perfect for raising a glass of if celebrating. Tost is also sweetened with agave, so you do not need to worry about bone char processed sugar.
If you would like to read more about whether tea (yes, tea) is always vegan, you can here – Is Tea Vegan? Time To Know The Complete Facts.
You can find Tost on Amazon by clicking here.
Gruvi is different from the other non-alcoholic wines on this list. This is because Gruvi’s wines do not come in 750ml sized wine bottles or cans – instead, they come in single-serving 10 fluid ounces beer style glass bottles. This makes them perfect for having a solo drink.
Gruvi also contains “absolutely no alcohol” so if you are somebody who wants a vegan non-alcoholic drink with no traces of alcohol this could be the wine for you.
This bubbly rose is semi-dry with tart apple and strawberry notes. This wine was selected as the best non-alcoholic wine for the James Beard Zero proof Dinner in New York 2020, so it must be good. Gruvi also makes non-alcoholic beers.
You can find Gruvi on Amazon by clicking here.
Opia is a 0% alcohol-free organic wine. Offered in 4 varieties Chardonnay, Rose, Cabernet-Sauvignon, and Sparkling Chardonnay. It is a great option if you are looking for a glass of organic and completely alcohol-free wine. Made in the South of France the wine is produced by a long maceration process before being pressed. The result is the extraction of all the grapes components including polyphenols, anthocyanins, tannins, and resveratrol – the same flavors which you get from the grape in the fermentation process.
You can find Opia by visiting their website here.
Vegan Non-Alcoholic Wine – The Final Sip
I find it amazing that we have gotten to the point where we can create something special like a wine without any alcohol. Wine is such a social drink and versatile drink. You can drink it with dinner, you can drink it with friends, you can drink it to unwind, you can drink it to heighten flavors with food, you can drink it to celebrate. You get the idea. Just because you don’t drink alcohol doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t also be able to have a glass of wine. The good news is that you don’t have to miss out. The above wines offer a great selection of every type of wine – in a non-alcoholic form. Just remember if you cannot have any alcohol present in your beverage (whether for religious reasons, or just personal) make sure to pick a wine that contains 0% alcohol and hasn’t just had it removed from an originally alcoholic batch. Similarly, just because something is non-alcoholic does not make it vegan. Always check the label and understand how it is made. For example, fining agents are not required to be labeled on wine bottled whether they are alcoholic or non-alcoholic.
And, if you don’t drink alcohol make sure to check out my piece Vegan Non-Alcoholic Drinks – Revealing What You Need To Know.
…now you know.
Beverage makers may change ingredients and/or manufacturing processes. Always double-check ingredients before purchasing any beverages.
Like What You Are Reading?
Like what you are reading? Want to know if your favorite coffee or orange juice you grab each morning is vegan? How about that go-to energy drink or soda – think those are vegan? Find out the answers in Vegan Bev HQ’s other articles below:
- Vegan Non-Alcoholic Drinks – Revealing What You Need To Know
- Is Soda Vegan? Revealing What You Need To Know
- Is Cream Soda Vegan? Unlock All You Need To Know
- Is Root Beer Vegan? Unlock The Hidden Root Cause
- How To Find Out – Is Boba Vegan?
- Is Coffee Vegan? How To Find Out The Truth?
- Is Orange Juice Vegan? Revealing Why You Need To Know
- Is Kombucha Vegan? The Complete Facts You Need To Know
- Is Tea Vegan? Time To Know The Complete Facts
- Is Vitamin Water Vegan? How To Know The Difference
- Are Energy Drinks Vegan? Complete Guide To Finding Out
- Is Coca-Cola Vegan? The Secrets To Know About Coca-Cola Drinks
- Is Pepsi Vegan? The Secrets To Know About Pepsi Drinks
- Is Ginger Ale Vegan? Everything You Need To Know