Top 10 Drinks at Tim Hortons – are you a vegan coffee lover who lives North of the Border? If the answer is yes, then this post is for you. That’s because today I am going to be sharing with you 10 of the best vegan Drinks at Tim Hortons. Whether you call it Tim’s or Timmies if you live in Canada then no doubt you will know about Tim Horton’s. If you are not from Canada, then think of Tim Horton’s as Canada’s equivalent of Dunkin’ Donut. In this post, I am going to list my personal top 10 suggestions for vegan drinks at Tim Hortons. Think of it as a simple and easy go-to list you can use when ordering from your favorite Tim Horton’s. To begin, what are even the best vegan drinks at Tim Hortons?
The Best Vegan Drinks At Tim Hortons
The best vegan drinks at Tim Hortons include:
- iced lemonade;
- iced and hot teas; and
- coffees made with oat milk or almond milk with a sugar-free shot added.
Summary Table – Best Vegan Drinks At Tim Hortons
|Best Hot Tim Hortons Vegan Drinks
|Best Cold Tim Hortons Vegan Drinks
|Cappuccino With Almond Milk and Sugar-Free Hazelnut Shot, No Whip
|Strawberry Iced Tea
|Latte With Oat Milk And Sugar-Free Vanilla Shot
|Unsweetened Brewed Iced Tea
|Dark Roast Coffee with Almond Milk
|Iced Cap with Almond Milk, No Whip
|Steeped Tea with Almond Milk
|Iced Americano with Almond Milk
|Peach Mango Iced Tea
Non-Vegan Drinks at Tim Hortons
When creating this post, I found Tim Hortons’ allergens statement which helpfully had been very recently updated as of March 2022.
According to the Tim Hortons allergens statement, these are the drinks that do not contain dairy nor ‘may contain dairy’ –
- Original Blend Coffee;
- Dark Roast Coffee;
- Decaf Coffee;
- Bagged Tea;
- Steeped Tea;
- Original Cold Brew;
- Classic Lemonade;
- Peach Quencher;
- Strawberry Watermelon Quencher; and
- Freshly Brewed Iced Tea Quencher.
What You Need To Know When Ordering at Tim Hortons
First, despite being mentioned, the Quencher drinks don’t appear to still be on the menu at Tim Hortons. They were launched in the Summer of 2021 but don’t seem to be on the menu at the time of writing (Spring 2022). Maybe they will make a return this Summer, maybe they are gone for good – who knows.
This essentially means just black coffee, tea, and lemonade are on the list as vegan-friendly drink options. Not hugely exciting I realize. Don’t worry there is still hope for an exciting vegan drink at Tim Hortons.
How Can I Order A Vegan Drink At Tim Hortons?
There are a few ways to order a vegan drink at Tim Hortons.
1. Almond milk introduced into the Tim Hortons menu in 2020:
Good ol’ Almond Milk. Hooray. Almond milk was added to the Tim Horton’s menu in 2020. This means you can order a coffee with almond milk. You don’t have to settle for black coffee.
2. Oat Milk introduced into the Tim Horton’s menu at the end of 2021
Double Hooray – you also have the option of oat milk at Tim Hortons. Also in 2021 Tim Hortons introduced two oat milk lattes:
- Cinnamon Caramel Oat Latte
- Cinnamon Caramel Oat Cold Brew
Sadly, these oat milk creations don’t seem to currently be on the menu, but fingers crossed they return this Fall (they are rather fall-like flavors so here is hoping).
Also, please bear in mind a lot of the coffee drinks that are automatically made with dairy milk – such as cappuccinos and lattes, will automatically be listed as containing dairy on the allergens statement. However, a simple substitution with oat and almond milk will make it vegan. Just make sure to tell your server.
3. Flavor Shots
When it comes to sauces, I have learned that most coffee shop sauces tend to contain dairy (think caramel sauces, etc). However, clear flavoring syrups tend not to contain dairy (but do contain sugar which could have potentially been processed with bone char which could be an issue for strict vegans).
Tim Horton’s website and the allergen statement don’t seem to clarify this any further. This is complicated further by the fact that different Tim Horton’s stores and franchises can use different sauces.
However, Tim Hortons do have a sugar-free vanilla syrup and a sugar-free hazelnut shot. So long as you are comfortable with artificial sweeteners, sugar-free syrups do not tend to contain bone char sugar or dairy, so are usually the best option if you fancy adding some flavor to your coffee.
Also, if you are comfortable consuming sugar then definitely check with your barista that the clear syrups are dairy-free (they usually are).
It is also always worth checking if the chocolate sauce contains dairy as this is the one flavor of sauces that can (oddly enough) often be dairy-free in coffee shops (see my posts on Starbucks and Dunkin’ Donuts here: How To Order Vegan Starbucks Drinks Every Time and Vegan Drinks at Dunkin’ Donuts – How To Actually Order Vegan).
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade, right? Tim Hortons has a selection of Lemonades which I must make a note of. The frozen lemonade and strawberry frozen lemonade “may” contain dairy according to the allergen statement. I can only assume this is because they are blended in the same blenders used to make the dairy drinks.
This means if you are in the mood for Lemonade at Tim Hortons make sure to stick to the classic Lemonade and not the frozen Lemonade.
On that note, as is the case with all non-exclusively vegan coffee chains and restaurants there is always the potential for cross-contamination so just bear that in mind.
Are You Vegan and Love Coffee?
Are you vegan? Do you love coffee? If you do then you want to check out my Vegan Bev HQ guide on how to order vegan coffee from any coffee chain or just find out if that coffee you drink every day is actually vegan (spoiler – not all coffee is vegan):
- How To Order Vegan Coffee When Out – The Fail-Proof Guide
- Is Coffee Vegan? How To Find Out The Truth
Top 10 Vegan Drinks at Tim Hortons
In my list of the top ten vegan Tim Hortons drinks, I have tried to include a variety of:
- cold drinks;
- hot drinks;
- caffeinated drinks;
- non-caffeinated drinks;
- unsweetened drinks;
- sweetened drinks;
- tea drinks;
- coffee drinks; and
- refreshing drinks.
I know what it is like to just have black coffee and tea options out and about, so I have tried as much as possible to include as exciting as possible options (utilizing oat milk, almond milk, and or a sugar-free syrup). In italics, I mentioned the exact substitutions you have to make for each type of drink.
Before we get into the list, if you want to whip up your own vegan Tim Horton’s coffee at home then you can with this Tim Horton’s medium roast ground coffee from Amazon here.
1. Cappuccino With Almond Milk and Sugar-Free Hazelnut Shot, No Whip
*Substitute dairy milk for almond milk, add sugar-free hazelnut shot, and hold the whip*
If you are in the mood for a fancy flavored hot coffee, then make the most of the almond milk and the sugar-free hazelnut shot. Just make sure to order with no whip and double-check with your server that the sugar-free hazelnut shot is vegan as this can vary across locations.
2. Latte With Oat Milk And Sugar-Free Vanilla Shot
*Substitute the dairy milk for oat milk and add sugar-free vanilla shot*
Still in the mood for a flavored hot coffee but not so much of almond milk and hazelnut kind of person? Then how about an oat milk latte with a shot of sugar-free vanilla? Creamy, oat, vanilla, and the perfect caffeine hit. What’s not to love?
Again, make sure to double-check with your server that the sugar-free vanilla shot is vegan.
3. Dark Roast Coffee with Almond Milk
*Order with almond milk*
Are you in the mood for an unflavored strong caffeine hit? If so, then just go for a dark roast coffee with a splash of almond milk. Simple but hits the spot.
4. Strawberry Iced Tea
*May contain sugar*
Fancy a refreshing iced tea but want something that feels a bit fancy and with a fruity kick to it? Then the strawberry iced tea may be the drink for you.
This drink may contain sugar which could have been processed with bone char so may not be suitable for strict vegans.
5. Steeped Tea with Almond Milk
*Order with almond milk*
A steeped tea with a splash of almond milk is perfect for when you fancy an afternoon pick me up or a cup of comfort but aren’t in the mood for a full-on caffeine hit of a cup of Joe.
6. Unsweetened Brewed Iced Tea
*Vegan as is*
Ah, unsweetened brewed iced tea. The perfect go-to drink for non-sugar consuming vegans everywhere. A go-to refreshing drink.
7. Iced Cap with Almond Milk, No Whip
*Substitute the dairy milk for almond milk and hold the whip*
If you are in the mood for an iced cold vegan coffee, then an iced cap with almond milk and no whip may be the Tim Horton’s drink for you.
8. Iced Americano with Almond Milk
*Order with almond milk*
If you fancy an iced cold vegan coffee but you want more of a caffeine hit than an ice cap can provide or want a higher coffee to almond milk ratio, then an iced Americano with almond milk is the drink for you.
9. Iced Lemonade
*May contain sugar*
If you want an iced cold refreshing sweet non-caffeinated drink, then definitely order an iced lemonade from Tim Hortons. Make sure to order the iced lemonade and not the frozen lemonade as according to Tim Horton’s allergens statement the frozen lemonade may contain dairy.
Also, note that lemonade may contain cane sugar which could be an issue for strict vegans due to bone char concerns.
10. Peach Mango Iced Tea
*May contain sugar*
If you are looking for an iced tea but an unsweetened iced tea isn’t exciting enough then how about a peach mango Iced tea. Sweet, refreshing, cooling, and with a nice little caffeine boost.
10 Best Vegan Drinks At Tim Hortons – The Final Sip
10 best vegan drinks at Tim Hortons – okay, when it comes to vegan-friendly drinks Tim Hortons may not be at the top of the list if you are vegan. Coming up with 10 vegan drink options took a lot of my imagination. Other coffee brands have a much wider selection – Starbucks and Dunkin’ Donuts. However, Tim Hortons is one of the most popular coffee chains in Canada and that means if you fancy a coffee and are vegan you will be bumping into one regularly. If you want a simple coffee, latte, tea (hot or cold), or lemonade – then Tim Hortons is a pretty good spot. You can get the basics, just don’t expect any vegan “bells and whistles” on your coffee.
…now I know.
Like What You Are Reading
Want to know what is and is not vegan at other coffee chains and restaurants, such as Dunkin’ Donuts (including all of their Holiday Drinks), Coffee Bean, Dunkin’ Donuts, Peet’s, Philz, or Dutch Bros. If you do, then check out my other posts below:
- What Drinks Are Not Vegan? Complete Guide Of Drinks To Avoid
- 20 of the All-Time Best Vegan Drinks at Starbucks
- 10 of the All-Time Best Vegan Drinks at Dunkin’
- 10 Vegan Drinks at Costa You Need To Know About
- 10 Vegan Drinks at Dutch Bros You Need To Know
- Vegan Holiday Drinks at Starbucks
- Vegan Holiday Drinks at Dunkin’
- How To Order Vegan Coffee? What Every Vegan Must Know
- How to Actually Order Vegan Starbucks Drinks
- Vegan Drinks at Dunkin’ Donuts – How to Actually Order Vegan
- Vegan Drinks at Dutch Bros – How To Really Order Vegan
- Vegan Drinks at Gloria Jean’s – How To Know What’s Vegan
- Vegan Drinks at Peet’s – How to Know What’s Vegan
- Vegan Drinks at Philz – How to Actually Order Vegan
- Vegan Drinks at Panera – How to Know What Is Vegan
- Vegan Drinks at Coffee Bean – How to Order Vegan
- Vegan Drinks at Biggby Coffee – How To Really Order Vegan
- Vegan Drinks at Costa – How To Order Vegan
- Vegan Drinks at Scooter’s – How To Order Vegan Coffee
- Is Starbucks Pumpkin Spiced Latte Vegan? The Amazing Truth
- Vegan Drinks at McDonald’s – The Complete Guide For Vegans
- Vegan Drinks at Taco Bell – How To Order Vegan
- Revealing The Best Vegan Holiday Drinks at Coffee Chains
- Vegan Drinks at Wawa – How to Make Your Drink Vegan
- Vegan Drinks at Burger King, Wendy’s Sonic, Sheetz & Cheesecake Factory
- Best Vegan Kefir Drinks – Including One You Can Make At Home
- How To Pick The Best Vegan Half & Half Milks
- How To Find The Best Hemp Milk Available
- What Is The Best Cashew Milk Out There
- Best Flax Milk Brands You Need To Know About
- How To Pick The Best Macadamia Milk