Vegan White Wines – yes, that is right. It’s time to bust out that bottle of wine from the fridge, sit back, and enjoy a bottle of “oaky” Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, or Pinot because today we are talking about white wine. Whilst, according to YouGov, Red wine remains the most popular wine amongst adults (69% of people say Red wine is their favorite) the majority of people say they do like and enjoy drinking white wine (65% say they like white wine). That’s good because literally, all I am going to talk about today is white wine. Specifically, the 15 best vegan white wines you can find on the market today.
Is White Wine Vegan?
There are vegan white wines available in most of the big grocery stores. Whether you want a vegan Pinot Grigio, vegan Chardonnay, vegan Riesling, vegan Bubbles, vegan White Blend, vegan Sauvignon Blanc, or even vegan boxed white wine, there is a vegan white wine option out there for you at one of the big grocery stores.
What Is The Difference Between White Wine and Red Wine?
I thought it would be best to start with something mind-blowing. You see when it comes to white wine are you in the camp of thinking: white wine must come from white grapes? Sounds like a logical conclusion. Right? Well, sadly not. White wine, believe it or not, can come from either white or red grapes – mind-blowing!
How is this even possible? Well, white wine is made by the fermentation of grapes with the separation of their skins. This is done before the fermentation process. On the flip side, red wine is made from darker (red grapes) and their skin is included in the fermentation process. While we are on the topic, if you are wondering about Rose wines – these are made by a hybrid method. The skins of darker grapes are allowed a limited amount of contact with the juice before fermentation.
Is White Wine Vegan?
There tend to be more non-vegan white wines than there are non-vegan red wines. This is not to say that there aren’t many vegan white wines available (the whole point of this list is to show otherwise). However, white wines are more likely to be treated with fining agents. This is because of the expectation from consumers for a light, clear and transparent complexion.
A fining agent is a substance used to help with the clarification of wine mixtures after fermentation, but before bottling. The issue is that the most common fining agents used tend to be non-vegan. Examples include Isinglass (dried fish bladders), Gelatin, Casein (milk protein), Lactose, and Egg albumin. However, there are vegan fining agents available such as charcoal or Bentonite.
15 Vegan White Wines – Summary Table
Below is a summary table of my choice of the best 15 vegan white wines on the market today. I have tried to pick white wines that you should be able to easily find in grocery and liquor stores. I also tried to provide a selection of different types of white wine including Chardonnay, Pinot Grigio, Sauvignon Blanc, Riesling (which is one of my favorite white wines), Sparkling White Wine/Champagne, and white wine blends. Each wine is broken down item by item after the summary table.
|Best Vegan Chardonnays||Best Vegan Pinot Grigios||Best Vegan Sauvignon Blancs||Best Vegan Riesling||Best Vegan Bubbles||Best Vegan White Wine Blend|
|JaM Cellars Butter Chardonnay||California Roots Pinot Grigio||Vinas Chilenas Sauvignon Blanc||Brown Box Riesling||Bellissima Brut Prosecco||Frey Wines Natural White Wine|
|Beringer Main & Vine Chardonnay||Trader Joe’s Block Pinot Grigio||Bogle Sauvignon Blanc||Trader Joe’s Blanc de Blancs French Sparkling|
|Bonterra Organic Chardonnay||Kris Pinot Grigio||Justin Vineyards Sauvignon Blanc||Wilson Creek Almond Champagne|
|Bonterra Sauvignon Blanc|
15 Best Vegan White Wines – Item-by-Item
Best Vegan Chardonnays
If you are an ABC (anything but chardonnay) drinker then I would advise skipping to the next section. Chardonnays can be a bit polarizing. Many tend to be oaked, which means they have been aged in oaked barrels giving them a very distinguishing taste. However, this is not true for all Chardonnays. If you love the buttery and oaky notes often associated with chardonnays then read on, I have you covered with the following three vegan chardonnays.
In the case of JaM Cellars, the reference to butter is a good thing. This Chardonnay is dry, bold, and rich with all the stone fruit, oak, vanilla, and lemon notes. Oh, and did I mention that it has butter notes (duh)? Butter notes without any dairy.
You can find JaM Cellars Butter Chardonnay on Amazon here.
You can also find JaM Cellars in Costco stores – if you fancy reading about what others wines are vegan at Costco you can read it here: 10 Vegan Wines at Costco You Need To Know About.
The second chardonnay to make it onto this list – this time from Beringer Main & Vine.
Apple, tropical fruit, and a touch of vanilla and butter, this smooth wine is a great everyday Chardonnay.
You can buy it on Instacart here and you can also buy it from Walmart. If you would like to read more about what other wines are also vegan at Walmart, you can here: Introducing The 10 Best Vegan Wines at Walmart.
According to Barnivore all of Beringer Main & Vine’s white wines are vegan but their reds are not – this is actually quite unusual – it is normally the other way round with a lot of wine brands (i.e. reds are vegan but whites are not).
The final chardonnay on this list is an organic one.
This organic chardonnay is from Bonterra and it can be bought from Amazon here and also from Sprouts (you can read more about what other wines are vegan at Sprouts here – The Best Vegan Wine At Sprouts).
Just like Beringer Main & Vine, Bonterra’s white wines are vegan, but their reds are not. This Chardonnay is creamy, with all the apple, pear, and citrus notes you would expect from chardonnay and just a touch of vanilla.
Best Vegan Riesling
Because (1) Vegan White wines are on the rarer side, (2). Boxed vegan wines are even rarer, and lastly (3) I mean have you ever heard of a boxed vegan Riesling before (I haven’t)?
This vegan boxed Riesling provides all the honey, apricot, caramel, melon, tropical fruits, and banana you would expect from a Riesling. All in an eco-friendly and cost-conscious box. And no – just because it has honey notes doesn’t mean it contains honey (it wouldn’t make it onto this list otherwise).
You can buy Brown Box Riesling from Instacart here.
If you want to find out about some more boxed vegan wines, then check out the post I wrote on it: 5 Vegan Boxed Wines You Need To Try (& Those To Avoid).
Best Vegan Pinot Grigio
If dry, mild, and citrusy is your jam then check out the following three best vegan Pinot Grigios.
Have you heard about Target’s $5 exclusive vegan wine brand (the only variety that isn’t vegan is the Moscato)?
If you haven’t, then you are in for a pleasant surprise. California Roots is a wine brand currently mostly exclusive to Target stores. This Pinot Grigio is crisp, delicate, and acidic with citrus, honeysuckle, pear, peach, and tropical fruit notes. Would go perfectly with a fresh crisp green salad.
You can get it delivered directly to your door via Saucey here. I also cover separately all the vegan wines you can find at Target in my separate post: 15 Vegan Wines at Target You Need To Try.
The second boxed wine to make it onto this list (after having written a post on the best boxed vegan wines – I am sold on the benefits of boxed wines see 5 Vegan Boxed Wines You Need To Try (& Those To Avoid)).
This time a vegan boxed wine from everybody’s favorite grocer – Trader Joe’s! You can have a box of this bargainous wine delivered directly to your door via Drizly here. If you want to read more about vegan wines at Trader Joe’s, you can here: 10 Vegan Wines at Trader Joe’s You Need To Try.
This pinot grigio is mellow with a floral aroma and all the melon notes you could wish for!
Kris Pinot Grigio can be bought at Whole Foods Market (you can read more about what other wines are vegan at Whole Foods Market in my post: 10 Vegan Wines At Whole Foods You Need To Know. It is also available in-store or online via Amazon here.
This pinot grigio has “enticing aromas of acacia flowers, lime, tangerine and hints of apricots and almonds, KRIS Pinot Grigio is bold but clean and refreshing on the palate, and offers a long finish tinged with orange blossom and honey”.
Best Vegan Sauvignon Blancs
Is a crisp sauvignon blanc your vegan wine of choice? Then you are in for a corker – with four, yes four vegan sauvignon blanc recommendations.
No. 8 Vinas Chilenas Sauvignon Blanc
The second entry on this list is from everyone’s favorite grocer (seriously though have you ever met anybody and mentioned Trader Joe’s to them and their reaction has been “meh”?!). This sauvignon blanc is dry and crisp with all the melon, citrus, and apple notes you would expect from a decent sauvignon. If you want to read more about what other wines are vegan at Trader Joe’s you can read my post: 10 Vegan Wines at Trader Joe’s You Need To Try.
It is time to talk about “Bogle”, no not the word game you know and love, but the wine. Bogle describe their sauvignon blanc as being lively and refreshing and pairing well with the following foods: asparagus lemon pasta with spring peas; corn, avocado, and tomato salad, or a fresh summer gazpacho.
According to Justin Vineyards, their sauvignon blanc provides a “full, textured palate with bright citrus and tropical fruit with a hint of fresh herbs balanced with a crisp, refreshing mineral structure”.
You can buy Bonterra Sauvignon Blanc here from Amazon. You can also buy it from everybody’s favorite discount alcohol store – BevMo! If you want to learn about other vegan wines you can find in BevMo read my post: Vegan Wines at BevMo! You Need To Try.
Best White Wine Blend
All of Frey’s white wines are fined using bentonite, a naturally occurring earth clay. This means that, despite being fined, Frey’s white wines are all vegan. The good news doesn’t stop there. To go a little off-topic, Frey’s red wines are also all vegan as they don’t fine any of their red wines (it is more common to see unfined red wines than unfined white wines).
Frey has made a commitment to making all their wines vegan so is a great producer to support. Frey’s natural white wine can be bought from Whole Foods Market via Amazon here. If you want to read more about what other wines are vegan at Whole Foods Market you can read about them here: 10 Vegan Wines at Whole Foods Market You Need To Know.
Best Vegan Bubbles
Got something to celebrate the vegan way? You can raise a toast with the following three vegan bubbles/sparkling wines/champagnes.
If you want to read more about why champagne isn’t always vegan, you can here: Is Champagne Vegan? Revealing The Truth Behind The Bubbles.
Bellissima is brought to you by the “world’s most beautiful woman” … Christy Brinkley. All Bellissima wines are certified vegan. You can buy Bellissima prosecco next time you are a BevMo or you can purchase from Instacart here.
If you want to find out what other wines are vegan at Bevmo you can here: Vegan Wines at BevMo You Need To Try.
No. 14 Trader Joe’s Blanc de Blancs French Sparkling
The final entry from Trader Joe’s. This bottle of bubbles is fresh, crisp, and fruity. The perfect accompaniment to a vegan Alfredo pasta made with nut milk and vegan parmesan – the crisp bubbles really cut through the rich sauce.
If you are also a beer fan and also love Trader Joe’s like do then you should definitely check out the post, I wrote on the best vegan beers at Trader Joe’s: 10 Vegan Beers At Trader Joe’s You Need To Try.
This champagne is an incredible mind-blowing cross between champagne and amaretto. Think almond marzipan and caramelized sugar vibes mixed. It has also won a California State Fair Gold Medal. You can buy it from Instacart here.
Vegan White Wine – The Final Sip
Vegan White Wine – do vegan options exist? Absolutely and emphatically – YES. In fact, there is such a great selection of white vegan wine available I could go so far as to say you are spoiled for choice. Well, okay, that might be a push. But, the above 15 choices are all solid examples of white wines that are: (1) vegan; and (2) easy to find from your local grocery stores, or sources easily available to you. I just wished that winemakers would make it easier to spot their vegan wine bottles. How hard can it be to just put “Vegan” on the front of the bottle – please? As to my personal favorite on the list – it would be the boxed Riesling from Brown Box (no.4 on the list). I love that apricot/petrol (sounds wrong, but it works) smell and taste that comes from Rieslings, and I am a sucker for the economy of boxed wines.
*You can double check the vegan status of the above wines via the links in the below references.
…now you know.
Beverage makers may change ingredients and/or manufacturing processes. Always double-check ingredients before purchasing any beverages.
Please Drink Responsibly.
Like What You Are Reading
Need to know more? Think your favorite beer or wine is vegan? How about your favorite Vodka, Tequila, or Gin – think those are vegan? Time to find out – check out some of my other articles:
- Is Alcohol Vegan? How to Know the Truth
- Is Liquor Vegan? How to Actually Pick Vegan Liquor
- Is Whiskey Vegan? How to Actually Pick Vegan Whiskey
- Is Tequila Vegan? How To Really Pick Vegan Tequila
- Is Gin Vegan? How To Really Tell Vegan Gins Apart
- Is Vodka Vegan? Hidden Surprises to Know About in Vodka
- Is Rum Vegan? Surprises You Need To Know About In Rum
- Is Brandy Vegan? How To Always Pick Vegan Brandy
- Vegan Beers UK – How To Pick Vegan Beer In The UK
- 10 Vegan Beers at Trader Joe’s You Need To Try
- What Beer Is Not Vegan? Beers You Need To Avoid
- Is Beer Vegan – Introducing the Secrets to Finding Out
- 5 Vegan Boxed Wines You Need To Try (& Those To Avoid)
- 10 Vegan Wines At Trader Joe’s You Need To Try
- 10 Vegan Wines at Whole Foods Market You Need To Know About
- Vegan Wines at BevMo You Need To Try
- The Best Vegan Wine at Sprouts For Vegans
- 97 Vegan Wines at ALDI You Need To Know About
- Introducing the 10 Best Vegan Wines at Walmart
- 15 Vegan Wines at Target You Need To Try
- 10 Vegan Wines at Costco You Need To Know About
- Why is Wine Not Vegan – How to Know the Truth?
- Is Champagne Vegan? Revealing the Truth Behind the Bubbles
- Is Cider Vegan? How to Know the Pressing Truth
- Is Hard Seltzer Vegan? How to Really Tell
- Is Ginger Ale Vegan? Everything You Need To Know
References (as of 3 January 2022)